Season Translations

I think I’m probably one of the only people who actively hopes for snow and winter, and I’m cool with it. To me, it means a whole new wardrobe to whip out and show to everyone, and layering is one of my favorite techniques. But I have the same emotional attachment to all of my summer/fall items as everyone else. Don’t worry, I’ve figured out some fun ways to still use all of our favorites from these past months, so don’t pack them away just yet.

How strapping *insert British accent?* 

The first one is something sort of out of a 90s handbook, and I think it’s comeback is spectacular. Take all of those strappy or sleeveless items you own and pair them with something that has some more length to the sleeve (in the fall/late summer I would do a short-sleeve, but for the winter stick to the long-sleeves!). I found this inspiration from a Seventeen Editor, Kelsey Stiegman (I adore her).

I personally don’t own many strappy tank tops, so most of my collaborations are with my dresses, but experiment with all different types of layers! Mix and match your long sleeves with other dresses, thermo shirts, blouses, sweaters, flannels, and literally anything else you can find. Just note that your strappy layer should not be too tight. If it is, the bottom layer will look bunchy. The same goes for watching out for the armpit: if the long sleeve underneath is baggier in the underarm area than the top layer, it’s going to bunch and more importantly be pretty uncomfortable. Check out what I’ve thrown together with the things in my closet!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Try different patterns, textures, and colors for a really fun look, and match any dresses with some tights and booties and you are ready for winter.

CHOKERS WILL REMAIN

I don’t know about you, but realizing that one of my favorite and hottest summer accessories can last through the winter blues makes me so happy. Unlike the warmer season though, try to pair your favorite chokers with a high neckline. The summer saw an increase in the plunging necklines, which ugh I loved, but to give it a new and fresh look for this transition period, try something new.

My favorite part about chokers, is that you can basically use anything you want. I saw a girl with a shoelace tied around her neck at a party and was literally envious of her. A bra strap will work as well, if you have a detachable one! Here are some of my chokers paired with some winter necklines!

 

NSFW (Too Graphic, hehe)

I’m not sure if everyone categorizes graphic tee’s as a summer item, but they rocked my wardrobe throughout. So I decided to dabble in pairing them with some winter stuff. This is probably the easiest “relaxed” look there is. Jeans, your graphic tee, and any sweater/jacket will do!

Some tips:

  • Don’t spend too much money on a graphic tee. I find most of mine at Goodwill.
  • Pattern v pattern is GREAT.
  • Bomber jackets/jean jackets are making a huge comeback (thanks 90s, again), so try and mix those in when you usually wouldn’t!
  • Longer sweaters go great with leggings so you’re not flaunting anything inappropriate for work!
  • You can pair a graphic tee-sweater combo with a statement necklace or some long earrings to dec’ it up a bit. It does not have to be a dressed-down look!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Please give this one a chance?

A lot of people are going to cringe at the thought of this. But I’m all for it, because my summer shoes are hanging around and I’m feeling really bad for ignoring them. And I’m starting to buy an abundance of fun socks, so why not? Give it a shot, and try it with your cute outfit to the bars this weekend!

I KNOW YOU LOVED THIS SHIRT

This look was actually inspired by Stiegman’s Instagram again (seriously go follow her). But I’m feeling it entirely. We all know a girl who has an off the shoulder top, and you’re probably one of them. There are some winter adaptations for it, with some sweaters taking on the look. But adding a vest and either  a statement necklace or scarf to the summer styles you own can help it last all winter long. (I don’t own any of these, unfortunately, so I used my roommates to create something cute!)

It’s basically a little peep show for your shoulders, and I’m obsessed with it.

 

So hey, please don’t pack all those summer items away just yet. The fun is just beginning!

 

xoxo, O.Herken

Leave a Reply

